Cape Byron Adventure

Have you ever seen a Real Live Lighthouse?!? We have!

We went to Cape Byron in New South Wales. This lighthouse, the Most Easterly Lighthouse in Australia, is located on the Most Easterly Point on the Mainland.

It’s such a pretty lighthouse, and it was late in the afternoon, so the light made it glow.

Aren't the scrolls cute? 🙂

On the way to the lighthouse, there are a few houses. They’re SO cute, and I took lots of photos. One thing about them that I liked was the amount of chimneys. Four! We thought it was very extravagant! We don’t have a fireplace in our house, so they’re a bit of a novelty. 🙂

four chimneys - lucky people!

This is the view we had, approaching the lighthouse. I like the bit at the front, the way it’s made to look like a castle. 🙂

Cape Byron Lighthouse

This one’s taken from the bottom of the steps…

this is the 'castle' part at the bottom

I tried to take a picture of the door – it was so beautiful!  But I couldn’t get rid of the reflection.

the lion rampant

I just like this one. 🙂

through the lighthouse window

I couldn’t get rid of my shadow in this picture, so I decided to let it make itself useful, for once. 🙂 The other, smaller shadow beside me is Miss 11, who wouldn’t get out of the photo!!

I don't know what this is for- any clues?

Daddy has a picture of himself, holding the top of the Taj Mahal. It looked fun, so I tried it with the lighthouse. It worked!!! 😀

Holding the top of the lighthouse

After I’d taken this picture we had to go home, and everyone was cranky at me for making them wait while I took the last ones.

It was a lot of fun. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Cape Byron Adventure

  1. Andrea says:

    What lovely pictures, especially the one of your dad! Well worth the wait to hear from you again 😀 .

    Your first question struck me as so odd: I grew up on Lake Ontario (in Canada), where “real light houses” are probably as normal as kangaroos out your way… and we go to Holland OFTEN (to get those Anijs Blockjes… or the mini-cigars as your Mom described them — was that two years ago already? Time flies!), and there are lighthouses as well as windmills all.over.the.place….

    So I learned something new: Out your way, there obviously are not many “decorating the landscape”!

    Glad you enjoyed yourself, but you should not enjoy getting everyone else cranky 😯 !

  2. Meggie says:

    Hello there, dear.
    That lighthouse looks really really cute! I like the castle part of it, your daddy looks SO funny! 😀
    Hope to see you soon!
    Meggie Eggie

  3. Hello, Mrs Andrea! 🙂

    Thank you for visiting, and sorry to keep you waiting. This is actually the first lighthouse I ever saw, that I can remember. 🙂 Do you really go to Holland to get the Anijs Blockjes??? 😯

    Hello Meggie!

    I think all lighthouses are cute! But the castle part is pretty.

    It was lovely to see you yesterday 🙂

    from the IrishChicklette 🙂

  4. Andrea says:

    Um.

    Yes. We do.

    We are food tourists.

    Traveling to Holland for delicious *this* and scrumptious *that*, counting the days ’til we get our fix.

    Of course, we also love the country, the people, the scenery…

  5. I think food tourism would be fun! 😀

Leave a Reply

