 How We Dried Apples! 

A few days ago we dried apples. It was great fun!

First, we filled a sink with water, and washed the apples. Then we cored one, using Grandma’s new apple corer, and watched it twirl around and around, making spirals!

peel and core the apples

We had a bit of a play with it, making it   s t r e t c h.  🙂

apple spirals

Next we dropped it into a cup of lemon juice, so it wouldn’t get brown. We let it soak for a while, and cored another apple while we waited. After we thought it had been in there long enough (we’d finished coring the next apple), we took it and laid it out on a lemon juicer, and dunked the next apple.

drop in lemon juice

drain!

After it had drained long enough for us to core another apple, we broke the first apple into rings, and arranged them on the dehydrator, being careful not to put them on top of each other.


place apples on drying tray

When we finished the apples, we put the dehydrator on, and cleaned up. We like dried apples crunchy, so we left them on a little longer than the recipe said. They were delicious. 🙂

  

4 thoughts on “ How We Dried Apples! 

  1. meggie4u says:

    ewwww! I must say that is quite gross! But you looked like you had fun making them. I am heaps glad you FINALLY! posted another post! 😀 talk to you Monday!
    – Meggie4u

  2. meggie4u says:

    Hey! Its Issue 2 of Black Ink Mag – check it out!!
    http://blackinkmagazine.wordpress.com/volume-1/issue-2/

    – Meggie4u

  3. Anna says:

    Hi! I like yor blog! I am one of Meggies friends! I am thinking about a contest, and I was wondering if you wanted to join my contest?

    The details are on my blog, you will have to scroll done a little ways, but its there!

    Anna

  4. Hello, Anna! I’m glad you like my blog. 🙂

    I think I might enter for the “most interesting post” – I don’t really blog stories! 😀

    Thanks for visiting!

    love Irish Chicklette 🙂

Leave a Reply

